Cornish Bridge

This morning (7/19/11), we got up early to visit Cornish where my dad’s family is from. The first place we stopped was the Cornish Bridge which is the longest covered bridge in the United States and a wooden plank bridge. I grew up with a picture of it on our bookshelf for as long as I can remember. It was a cool spot for the girls because it affords a person the possibility to be in two states at once as it is the transition from Vermont to New Hampshire.

After that, we went to see the house where my grandmother was born. It is now owned by the president of the historical society in Cornish, so we couldn’t go in, but my mom pointed out the window of the room where my grandmother was born (Top left). We also saw the hearse house where the hearse was kept–my great grandfather drove the hearse because he had two beautiful black horses.

Grandma's birthplace

Finally, we drove by to see my dad’s aunt (My Great-aunt) and one of my dad’s cousins. It was such a blessing to see family I haven’t seen in over twenty years. We caught up, sang hymns, and had a wonderful lunch. My great-aunt has cancer which she has chosen not to have treated. Yet despite the pain, she is one of the most encouraging and joyful women I have met in a long time. She sang for us and smiled almost continually. Her niece, who went out of her way both to visit her and to accommodate us, was also an incredible encouragement just by virtue of her example of service. All in all, it was a great day!

