Well, it was another rainy day in PEI today (8/8/11). I headed back to Charlottetown, this time in pursuit of Holland College (formerly the Prince of Wales College when Lucy Maud Montgomery attended it–apparently, they’re changing the name back.)

Rainy day view from the window

It was POURING when I arrived at Holland College, but I did manage to get a picture of the archway boasting the slogan “Ich Dien” over the door. Lucy Maud mentions it in the Valedictory address she wrote for James H. Stevenson: “Let us take the sublime yet simple motto as our own: ‘Ich Dien–I serve’ And let us serve–not ignoble ends, petty factions and the darker passions of human nature, but rather acknowledge as our masters only the noblest thoughts and motives, the highest aspirations, and the kindliest feelings between man and man. Such a servitude would be glorious indeed.”

Arched Entrance of Holland College

During the summer, there are not a lot of faculty around Holland College, so I went in the first lighted office I could find. The staff there had no information on the onb campus information about Montgomery, but kindly helped me find me to the bookstore. There was nothing covered in the history of the college, but it was a recent history, so that was a dead end. The bookstore clerks gave me the names of two Montgomery scholars before the fire alarm sounded, cutting off our conversation, and we had to evacuate the building. It was still raining.

Luckily, I exited the building directly across from Montgomery Hall. There were no dormitories in Montgomery’s time at the college, but this one was named for her when it was built. As a matter of fact, the building she was in (which she complains in the valedictory address was too small and pleads that “the powers that be will see fit at no distant day to provide us with a more commodious building”) was a wood building in the style of the Confederation building. She eventually got her wish six years later in 1900 when the wood building was replaced with a stone building. Then, in 1932, ten years before Montgomery’s death, the building burned down, and is now replaced by the modern campus.

Montgomery Hall Prince of Wales Campus

Leaving the campus, I set out in search of the PEI Museum where one of my recommended targets was to be working. After typing the address into the GPS, I arrived to find, not a museum, but a food pantry. I drove to the end of the road and the sign boasted the Museum at a different address than the internet claimed. I drove back down the street only to find, not a museum, but a large, orange warehouse. It had a keypad entry, and though there were three cars in the parking lot, no one answered my knocks. So, things must have changed.

Target number 2 was supposed to be “in North Rustico by the wharf. It’s next to the Blue Mussels Restaurant. She’s the house on the right with a fence.” Upon arrival, the only “house on the right” had no fence and was a summer cottage (Again no answer when I knocked, but no cars either.) I knocked on two more doors (still in the pouring rain) before admitting defeat (and it was getting close to the time I said I’d be home.) I drove by Jem’s Books and picked up a guidebook (admiring their collection of British Harry Potters), stopped by and purchased some “home baking,” and went home.

Today's haul of Agate

We decided to go sea glass looking again. This time, we headed to swimming rock (little luck–very rocky shore), then out to Cavendish Beach. Instead of Sea Glass (And driftwood, which was now on my list of things to find), we found tons of agate, so we spent about an hour there (getting soaked), and came home. I tried to Google the two targets I was given, and I discovered they are both published authors and major speakers, so finding them might not be as easy as I was led to believe. We’ll see. Thanks to the guidebook, I have a few more sites to peruse before departure on Thursday.

