Last Sunday, I had the amazing opportunity to attend a dinner hosted by the Lilly Endowment, the organization that funded my trip to Virginia and PEI. It was an amazing opportunity to present my project to other recipients and see what others experienced. From dancing in Peru, to illustrating children’s books, to writing a ghost story of three beheadings, to running mini marathons in a number of states, each story was a precious adventure and a life changing experience for the recipient.

As this blog is titled Legacy Hunting, and my goal was to study the lives of two individuals who made a profound impact on literature and their day, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the Lillys. They recognized that the people who often give the most–pastors, teachers, artists–are seldom acknowedged for their contributions. They realized how tiring it is to continually give and give and give. And they did something about it. This endowment has continued to seek out individuals for the sole purpose of blessing and encouraging them. When I think of a legacy I’d like to leave, I can’t think of a better one than that. So thank you, Lilly Endowment, not just for your generosity, but for your foresight. I am eternally grateful for you and the legacy you continue to leave.

