A secret

A secret

Finally, I get a chance to update on a trip I recently took. (I am now on Christmas Break in Gatlinburg, so the next few posts will be from there.) I know I have covered Tippecanoe a few times before, but it truly is an incredible place, and each time I visit, I enjoy new things.

This year, I have been switched back to History, so that’s been great fun (and time-consuming). But, I decided to offer my students who received A’s a reward. My first quarter trip was to Wolf Park, Tippecanoe, and Prophetstown.

Bison at Wolf Park

Bison at Wolf Park

I had never been to Wolf Park before, and was excited to go. The morning we went (October 29) was FREEZING. It was a neat experience, but not quite what the advertizing promised. After a bit of hassle trying to get our group situated (haggling over promised price and getting a tour instead of a lecture while we sat on bleachers), we were able to tour the facility. It was neat to see the wolves, foxes, and bison, but they were not nearly as close as I believed we would be. Apparently, to get really close, you have to pay for the photography day (Somewhere in the vicinity of $270.)

W.H. Harrison Statue

W.H. Harrison Statue

After lunch, we headed back to Tippecanoe. I can’t say enough about how wonderful a spot this is to take students. After spending time viewing the cemetery and the statue of William Henry Harrison, I let the kids explore the incredible beauty of the trails. There are benches to rest, beautiful scenery, and a creek that runs through the area.

Taking a break

Taking a break

Then, we took a steep and scenic hike through the woods to Prophet’s rock. A warning for those who aren’t up for such a climb: The trip up and back down is really steep; if you want to see Prophet’s rock without the hike, merely turn left and hike down the road a bit instead of starting through the woods: You will come to Prophet’s Rock without all the hiking. You will, however, miss the gorgeous view at the top of the hill.

The hike to Prophet's Rock

The hike to Prophet’s Rock

Prophet’s Rock offers an amazing climbing experience for kids of all ages. For those who like the experience of being where historical figures were, this is the spot where the Prophet (Tecumseh’s brother) sat and sang to encourage the Native troops. Just an incredible spot.

Beautiful Peacock

Beautiful Peacock

Finally, we finished up with a trip to Prophetstown. Just down the road from Tippecanoe, this scenic area offers not only spots to camp, but an old-fashioned working farm and an Indian village. Though we had to battle the biting wind, it was especially fun to tour the farmhouse, spend time in the barn petting the horses, and see the peacocks. All in all, it was an amazing opportunity to see gorgeous scenery, most of which was free. (The wolf park was the only thing that cost, though entrance to Prophetstown costs on weekends.)

Enjoying the barn

Enjoying the barn

