Cades Cove

Cades Cove

When we checked into our condo in Pigeon Forge, we were told that Cades Cove was a must see. Having spent the day there, I would agree. Let me begin by saying the distance to Cades Cove according to the map is misleading, to say the least. From the map (pictured below), the distance between stop lights is about 200 yards. Therefore, we assumed the trip to Cades Cove would take about 20 minutes, tops. About an hour later over incredibly curving mountain roads, we finally arrived.
The infamous map

The infamous map

I will, however, say that despite the rainy day, it was well worth it. I’m sure this area is gorgeous in both the Spring and Fall, whether it’s with flowers blooming or leaves changing. But, this “off-season” time of year is beautiful as well–with substantially less traffic, I’d imagine. The highlight for me was all the deer. Deer are definitely one of my favorite animals, and throughout the Cades Cove Scenic trail, they are quite literally everywhere.
Beautiful deer

Beautiful deer

Many were in open fields away from the road, but there were enough close by to make it definitely worthwhile for the photographer in me.

In addition to the wildlife, there are also a number of historic cabins and churches to see. We didn’t get out at many, due to the rain, but it’s definitely a point to consider for another day. Luckily, we made it back home (through fog, rain, and dark) in time for our evening show.

Historic Baptist Church

Historic Baptist Church

